My First Open Source Experience ! And First Blog
Of Mine

My First Open Source Experience ! And First Blog Of Mine

Hacktoberfest 2022

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

INTRODUCTION

Firstly it was the story of the girl who doesn't even know about what does it mean by open source ,contribution ,learning in public,very shy to show off something that she did even it was great and lot more

This blog is all about my experience in my first ever contribution !Before get into the blog I want to make small intro to my self ! Basically I am final year B.tech graduate who is in the 7th semester of her academics,whose parents have lot of expectations on her job after graduation .In that time I came up with opensource,things like that, I have lot of doubts about my self I mentioned them in the below.

As the open source is very new to me should I concentrate on learning new things (contribution, open source etc.,) or should I complete concentration on Placements?

This was the first doubt that always revolve around my mind 👆

Why I am experimenting my carrier in the ending of graduation?

🤔

How can I manage all the things ?

🙄

is it possible to a non-cse student can understand all these things?

😥

As of know these are the doubts I have !

HOW I REACHED TO THIS CONTEST

After answering all the above questions to myself I decided to get in to this world of open source.And I started searching bigger friendly contribution,You know Social media best part to start anything new .

Even it has tonnes and tonnes of overloaded information🤯 we need patience to search for what we want.After one month I came up with the hacktoberfest 2022 on LinkedIn,YouTube .

As of that I was very happy,but real struggle started when I seriously decided to participate . As per the participation norms I registered for that,I got registration coupon to show off that in our social media but really I not done that .

There is page created with GitHub a/c of mine. In order to contribute we have create on our own repository or contribution done to those A/C whose repository label with hacktoberfest-Accepted and whose repo is following the mentioned guidelines.

I choose to contribute someone else A/C .I didn't know whom I contribute because none of friends don't even know or not interested in knowing things like this. I strongly believe in one thing that..You Have Strong Will In Doing Something You Will Definitely Find The Way.

The same thing happened to me unfortunate I connect with (hashnode.com/@Arindam1729)😊 whose repo participating in hacktoberfest .In the initial I don't even know how to make PR he helped me with lot of patience and gave me answer to all my silly question.I started making Pull Request to that.In order to complete the fest we have to make 4 accepted PR's and Close it took 7days in order to get acceptance mail from hackoberfest.Finally I completed and order my swag and sticker successfully🤩.

Screenshot (50).png

Before this, "contribution" is big Tech term to me because I always think that it was used by developers,those who are in the big tech fields,doing great projects.After this I also have the same definition but not in the same level .I heard that lot of people saying that contribution is easy anyone can do contribute,there is no need to proficient in order to contribute.Even though I am not convinced by my-self with this word "contribution". However I Do Contributed To One Open Source This Step Very Special To Me😇 .

Meanwhile I started learning lot of knew things in my last year of my graduation those are not even related to Core (Major)😑 . I don't know where am going to end with this decision.Hoping for Happy Ending!🤞

If you are new to open source , I am telling you that you will definitely contribute like me one day but it depends because if someone started contribution in early in their career that does not mean you have to.

I have little regret of my self because if I have this awareness early in my carrier I will definitely give my best in this field.But I feel fortunate by saying my self that even in the last year you got chance to learn all these things .🤠

Thank-you For Reading That's It For know!